Aviationweb déjà vu                 Luchtvaart déjà vu helicopters gallery

Eurocopter EC135
MBB BO.105
PH-PXE Airbus Helicopters EC135 P2+ c/n 0807 - POLITIE <<waakzaam en dienstbaar>> - Teuge Airport in Holland - 13 March 2015 Teuge airport (EHTE)

The Airbus Helicopters EC135 / H135 is a lightweight five/seven seat twin-turbine-engine multi-role helicopter with a radius of 720 km. The EC135 is offered with either Safran Helicopter Engines (former: Turbomeca) Arrius 2B2 or Pratt & Whitney PW206B2 engines. Development of the Eurocopter EC135 started in the 80s as the MBB Bo.108 Advanced Technology Helicopter. The prototype BO108 with conventional tail rotor flew first on 15 October 1988. When the helicopter divisions of MBB from Germany and Aérospatiale from France merged in January 1992 to form the Eurocopter Group, the Bo108 program was transferred as well. An advanced low noise ducted 10-blade Fenestron tail rotor was, next to other modifications, incorporated into the design and the name of the helicopter was changed into Eurocopter EC135. The prototype of the EC135 (D-HBOX s/n S-01) flew first on 15 February 1994 and went in series production in 1996 at Donauwörth. On 14 June 1996, the German certification was granted by the LBA and the first customer delivery followed on 31 July that year. Next to the EC135 a special military version was developed designated the Eurocopter EC635. The EC635 has a structural reinforcement of cabin structure and can be equipped with wire-guided, laser-guided, autonomous missiles. Over 1300 EC135 / H135 / H135M airframes have been delivered since the helicopter entered service in 1996. In March 2015, Airbus Helicopters renamed its entire product line to better reflect its closer allignment with ist parent company and simplify the naming convention for the portfolio. Therefore, the EC135 T3/P3 were renamed as “H135” as stated in revison No.EASA.R.009 Issue: 07 of the Type Certificate Data Sheet for EC135 dated 18 March 2015. “H135M” is used as marketing designation for the military EC635 P3(CPDS); EC635 P3H; EC635 T3(CPDS) and EC635 T3H helicopters. The ICAO Aircraft Type Designator for the EC135 / H135 helicopters is EC35.

As a result of the merger between the Eurocopter parents Aérospatiale-Matra; DaimlerChrysler Aerospace (DASA) and Construcciones Aeronàuticas Sociedad Anonima (CASA) in July 2000, the Eurocopter group became a division of the new formed EADS (European Aeronautic Defence and Space company). Taking off into 2014, EADS was rebranded as "Airbus Group". Uniting all its activities under a single brand, its helicopter division Eurocopter was rebranded as Airbus Helicopters on 8 January 2014..

In 2009, two AgustaWestland AW139 Long Nose configuration and six Eurocopter EC135 P2+ helicopters replaced the MBB Bölkow BO-105s in service with the KLPD Dienst Luchtvaart Politie. On 21 July, the first two EC135 P2+ helicopters, PH-PXA and PH-PXB, arrived at Schiphol East and on 13 October 2009, the PH-PXZ, the first of the AW139 helicopters. On 4 January 2018, the Nationale Politie, Landelijk Eenheid, Schiphol, announced that they had ordered a third Leonardo AW139 helicopter.

In June 2009, Eurocopter Deutschland started testflying the Eurocopter EC135 P2+ s/n 0807 at Donauwörth with Eurocopter Deutschland test registration D-HCBX. On 23 October 2009, the helicopter was registered PH-PXE with KLPD Dienst Luchtvaart Politie, Schiphol-Oost, the Netherlands. The KLPD Dienst Luchtvaart Politie helicopters have fixed call-signs: Eurocopter EC135 P2+ PH-PXA up-to and including PH-PXF uses Police01 up-to and including Police06. The call-signs for the AgustaWestland AW139’s are Police25 and Police26. Due to the formation of the national police in the Netherlands, the Dutch police helicopters, including EC135 P2+ PH-PXE were registered with Nationale Politie, Landelijke Eenheid, Schiphol, on 31 October 2013.

page last updated: 02-02-2018
Copyright © Jack Wolbrink, Emmen, the Netherlands

  aeroplanes index   helicopters index   EC120 - H120 productionlist   Micro Light Aeroplanes   European Airfields